Shh… don’t tell anyone, I had a clue about management

So much for being the pointy-haired boss.  Just when I thought that last shred of common-sense had been purged from my soul, there I go having a clue.

Geoffrey James (yes, the author of “The Tao Of Programming”) has a blog on bnet.com called “Sales Machine”.  Why “Sales Machine”?  Well apparently the former programmer and tech maven finds sales and management interesting.  Whoda thunk it.

He recently posted a rant on the 8 Stupidest Management Fads of All Time.   http://www.bnet.com/blog/salesmachine/the-8-stupidest-management-fads-of-all-time/12307?tag=mantle_skin;content

Having lived through TQM, Balanced Scorecards and Six Sigma, I couldn’t resist adding my two cents.  Having grown up (I may grow old but I refuse to grow up) built my career around data warehousing and business intelligence, I’ve seen the good, the bad and the ugly of management fads.  My favorite follow up to “You can’t manage what you don’t measure” is “Only if you measure what matters”.

The ultimate compliment a professional writer can give a random voice from the peanut gallery is to quote them.  Mr. James did me one better than that… he dedicated an entire article to one of my comments.  http://www.bnet.com/blog/salesmachine/how-to-manage-without-management-fads/12718

So apparently, I have a clue about management.  Shhh… don’t tell anyone!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

